What You Need to Know About the Massachusetts Safe Driving Act
As of September 30th, all drivers in Massachusetts are prohibited from using a cell phone or other handheld device to compose, send or read electronic messages while behind the wheel. This includes e-mailing, internet browsing and related activities. The ban applies to drivers while they are moving and while stopped at stop signs and traffic lights.
Drivers under the age of 18 are prohibited from using cell phones (even use with a hands-free device) while behind the wheel.
Drivers over the age of 75 must take a vision test every 5 years and must renew their license in person at the Registry of Motor Vehicles.
Fines for those caught texting while driving include:
- $100 for the first offense
- $250 for the second offense
- $500 for the third and subsequent offenses
- Drivers under the age of 18 will also face license suspensions for violations